This year's Heisman nominees announced

In the past 19 years, the Heisman Trophy has been awarded to a quarterback 15 times.  The trend will continue this year, as all three finalists in the running for the reward are quarterbacks.  Dwayne Haskins from Ohio State, Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and Tua Tagovailoa from Alabama are now the last three standing to receive the trophy. 

After 928 voters, including previous winners, cast their ballots yesterday, the finalists were revealed.  Tagovailoa is the season favorite, but the other two candidates have also put up impressive numbers.  The winner will be announced in New York City this Saturday. 

While quarterbacks have most commonly been chosen for the Heisman, 2008 was the last time three quarterbacks were selected.  That year, Oklahoma's Sam Bradford won out over Florida's Tim Tebow and Colt McCoy of Texas.  In both 2016 and 2017, quarterbacks were chosen as the recipients, two of the ten quarterbacks to be awarded the trophy since 2005.

Tagovailoa is set to face off against Murray at the Orange Bowl semifinal on December 29.  That game will pit number 1 Alabama against number 4 Oklahoma, resulting in what should be a spectacular contest.  Tagovailoa is a sophomore at Alabama, who made his start in the last game of the 2017 season.  That performance led to a national championship victory over Georgia and has seen the quarterback complete 3,353 passing yards and 37 touchdown passes this year. 

Murray has also had an exceptional year, passing for 4,053 yards and throwing for 40 touchdowns.  Although he's been a force on the gridiron, he's giving up the football cleats for a baseball bat and has already signed a deal to play baseball with the Oakland Athletics next year.  That deal is reportedly worth $4.7 million.

Haskings is a third-year sophomore who has blown away a number of records in the Big Ten this year.  He has thrown for 4,580 yards and 47 touchdowns to lead the nation in both columns. 

Don't Miss these Sports Stories
    Join the most trusted US poker site since 2001 and get a 100% bonus on your first deposit, up tp $1,000!
    Stay up to date on the latest poker news through social media. Join us at Facebook/americascardroomnet and follow us @ACR_POKER on Twitter. We invite you to share ideas and reactions.